Tags

,

I’ve got a bit of a backlog to declare . . .

We visited the Bear’s side of the family just after Christmas. At one point I was sitting in the living room, all alone. My brother-in-law was cooking in the kitchen with the TV on. I heard voices, then I realised it wasn’t the kitchen TV. I sat and listened some more and recognised Bear-like tones, not one but two floors up, talking to his sister. To recognise someone’s voice at that kind of distance left me a bit flabbergasted really (OK, there wasn’t a big pool of people to draw on for my leap of deduction (!!!) but still, TWO FLOORS, two whole floors!)

I’ve just been staying with my mum and dad the past few days (long, lazy, Christmas break, but I’m looking forward to going back to work!) On the way to dropping me off at the railway station, they started bickering in the car, as only people who have been married for a very long time do. Sitting in the back, I heard every word and intervened, telling them to stop squabbling. I think I stunned them into silence, really.

There’s more and more and more, and yet more. I’ve got all manner of future blog posts lined up already, and can’t decide which one to go for first. My CI is pulling me into all sorts of interesting directions: do I write about how it feels to reassess the balance between being deaf and being hearing; the elements that go into voice and speech recognition as perceived by a CI user; or some more musings on music?

This is where it gets interactive: let me know what you’d like to see first, and what you think.

