Tags

,

OK, so this is my last night before activation and I haven’t a clue what to expect. Well, I do have a bit of a clue: I’ve seen my CI buddy’s video of her activation and read other people’s impressions of their activations on the utterly fabulous Hearing Journey forum. (Though it’s principally for AB users they make users of other brands welcome for non-brand specific questions and I’d encourage anyone thinking of getting an implant to get on there and ask away.) Everyone is so different in their hearing history, physiology, psychology and response at activation that it’s very hard to tell what’s going to happen. I’ve been put in touch with a lady in South Africa, a friend of a cousin, who wrote a very moving and interesting e-mail about her experiences. Even better, we have the same implant!

Most people seem to be much more excited than I am. I just want it over and done with now. My head’s going to explode with everything kicking off at once (I have a major deadline at work looming imminently) but if it did there would be bits of titanium going all over the place. I haven’t been anywhere near an audiologist for 25 years apart from when I got back into the NHS system 5 years ago and had audiology tests then, so that’s another aspect that’s going to be unfamiliar. I hope I speak the right language to her (that’s so gender-stereotypical of me, but I’m pretty sure it’ll be a her.)

nowt/zilch/nada/nuffink;  – – – (pulses); beep-beep-beep; BEEP-BEEP-BEEPITY BEEP; words but all ΓρεεΚ to me; or something meaningful. Which is it to be? I’ll opt for the nuffink or the – – – –  and let  you know tomorrow!

http://www.hearingjourney.com/index.cfm?langid=1

